Go and sin no more

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

This was a letter I wrote in response to someones confession of sin. It really ministered to me as I was writing so I thought I would share:

Thanks so much for the kind words. Your own confession was bold. You’re right church folks are good at tucking and hiding. Though that “confession” is not a struggle I still have my willingness to remain in sin in other areas of my life is a problem. No matter what the sin in God‘s eyes the weight is the same. Yours may be sex, mine unforgiveness, someone else lying, etc it doesn’t matter the sin.

The issue becomes why we are willing to live a life contrary to the one God outlines for us IF we love Him. I battle with this often. Submission, surrender, His will, my will, free will, love, desire, soul, flesh and spirit. If I love God then the word says I should obey His commandments. No commas no additions just obey period. So then free will becomes something I get to do only once and that is when I accept the invitation of salvation. After that I belong to Him to His work His way.

The struggle is we all want God’s results because we know for sure they are the best. The problem is we all want to do it our own way. It’s a reason there is one bible…that is so we all would walk and talk the same way and inevitably achieve the same results. But because we only focus on the parts of the bible that work for us right now we miss the how to part for the things we need. When you are able to see your sin as something filthy and unrighteous your heart towards desiring it changes. See sex is not filthy and unrighteous but out of the will of God it produces sin and sin produces separation from God and separation from God produces death.

We just have to change the way we see things and see them for what they are, an opportunity for us to be separated from God. So don’t just be encouraged, be different, see yourself victorious, not struggling not battling but having dominion over all sin. Christ died to pay the cost of sin because apart from Him we can’t afford it but everyday we take it back from Him and go back to the market loaded with the already paid for sin in our cart asking Him to repurchase it. Jesus said go, and sin no more.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. […] Go and sin no more (youngandinlovewithchrist.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment